American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers

Awards & Landmarks
Go Forgot Username/Password?

Pharos of Alexandria Global Learning Award


2017 Recipient - Sasha Howes
Virginia Tech


Past Recipients of the Award

Recognizes a junior or senior undergraduate, or graduate student member who has excelled and demonstrated leadership on the local, national and /or international levels as shown by their activities and offices held at each level. The candidate who receives this award should also have expressed their desire to be actively involved in ASABE. The award will further enrich his/her global learning of engineering problems.

One award shall be made each year and will alternate between an undergraduate junior or senior student in odd-numbered years and a graduate student in even-numbered years.  However, both categories of student nominations will be accepted each year and if there should be no qualified student in that year's intended category, the other student category of applicants will be considered for the award.

The award shall consist of an engraved plaque, a check for $1,000, and a complimentary Annual International Meeting registration.

Award Background: Pharos is an island in the bay of Alexandria, Egypt. It is famous for its lighthouse, designed in the 3rd century BC and considered one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. Two earthquakes in the 14th century destroyed the lighthouse and the remains were used to build Fort Qaitbay. Pharos is synonymously defined as a lighthouse to guide seamen.  The Pharos of Alexandria Global Learning Award motto is, “Let there be light for life”.  

Dr. Awatif El-Domiaty Hassan, ASABE Fellow, established The Pharos of Alexandria Global Learning Award in 2011 to enhance global learning in honor of her beloved place of birth and upbringing, the city of Alexandria, pearl of the Mediterranean. Dr. Hassan received her BS in Agricultural Engineering from the University of Alexandria in 1959. She received her MS and PhD from the University of California Davis in 1964 and 1968 respectively. She has taught at the university level for more than 45 years and has a strong bon and love for all students, which is expressed in this award. 

Eligibility: The recipient must be a student member of ASABE and enrolled as a student at the time of nomination. They must also be willing to attend the Awards Program during the Annual International Meeting to receive the award.

Submission Deadline: October 31

Nomination Instructions: The award nomination form and 3-5 letters of support, one of which to be provided by the student undergraduate/graduate program advisor, are to be submitted to  the Awards Administrator in electronic format only. The letters of support may be included with the nomination form or sent separately. Each nominee will be considered by the award committee for two additional award years if not selected the first year of consideration for a total of three years.

For each such holdover nominee, the Awards Administrator will check the expected date of graduation entered on the nomination form to see if the student is still enrolled. All nominations meeting this condition will be forwarded to the award committee. If a student is apparently no longer eligible, the Awards Administrator will contact the student and nominator, inform them of the circumstances and mention that, if the student is enrolled in a different program/degree, the student may be re-nominated and receive consideration for three years.

Nomination Form

Award Committee Bylaws

ASABE's Latest On Twitter