National standards

A standard is a living document developed under a strict rule of openness and consensus. 

The use of standards in the U.S. is voluntary. They help self regulate industry and encourage cooperation and growth. All standards are reviewed every 5 years for relevance and accuracy and updated and revised as technology changes.

ASABE standards are developed by volunteers representing industry, academia, government agencies and concerned and interested citizens.  

  • ASABE has ~200 technical committees and working groups, many of which develop standards.
  • ASABE currently has ~280 published standards with approximately one half published as American National Standards.
  • There is a significant focus on national adoptions of ISO Standards in the agricultural machinery sector.   

To find out how to get involved with standards development, contact one of the ASABE Standards Administrators.

STC, STC-01, STC-02

MS-23, MS-03

Outreach and Development


MS - Machinery Systems Community with the exceptions noted under other Administrators

MS-23/6, MS-23/19, MS-54, MS-58, MS-60







MS-23/3, MS-23/7, MS-23/14


ASABE Communities

ASABE is organized into Communities representing the various impact areas of our membership. Technical committees and the standards they developed are aligned with these communities.

ESH - Ergonomics, Safety, and Health

EOPD - Education, Outreach, &Professional Development

ASE - Applied Science and Engineering

ITSC - Information Technology, Sensors and Controls 

ES - Energy Systems

MS - Machinery Systems

NRES – Natural Resources and Environmental Systems

PAFS – Plants, Animals, and Facility Systems

PRS – Processing Systems