ASABE Award Winners Honored

Thursday, August 02, 2018
ASABE Award Winners Honored

The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) recently presented awards for outstanding technical and professional achievements.  The following individuals were honored at the 2018 ASABE Annual International Meeting, held recently in Detroit.

Links in the paragraphs below lead to more award and biographical information. Click here to request high-resolution photos.

WILLIAM KISAALITA, University of Georgia, is the recipient of the 2018 Lalit and Aruna Verma Award for Excellence in Global Engagement. Kisaalita's research and design efforts have not only served as academic experiences for students, but have also produced nearly a dozen products designed to empower agricultural producers in Africa and around the world.  Full biography 

MANJIT MISRA, Iowa State University, is the 2018 recipient of the Sukup Global Food Security Award, distinguished contributions to global food security through research, outreach, teaching in postharvest seed science, technology, and policy. Full Biography 

KEN STONE, PE, USDA-ARS, is the 2018 recipient of the Heermann Sprinkler Irrigation Award for his research contributions in irrigated agriculture and in advancing site-specific, variable-rate irrigation to enhance productivity while conserving water and natural resources. Full Biography 

JAMES BORDOVSKY, PE, Texas A&M, is the recipient of the 2018 Mayfield Cotton award in recognition of his outstanding contributions to cotton production through applied research in irrigation technology and best management practices. Full Biography 

GAREY E. FOX, PE, North Carolina State University, is the recipient of the 2018 ADS/Hancor Soil and Water Engineering Award for his efforts toward advancements and improved understanding of surface water and groundwater interactions.. Full Biography 

IRENILZA NAAZ, PE, Paulista University, Sao Paulo, Brazil, is the recipient of the 2018 Henry Giese Structures and Environment Award for her international leadership in research, teaching, and extension programs in livestock housing. Full Biography

HENNETH J. HELLEVANG, PE, North Dakota State University, is the recipient of the 2018 PEI Professional Engineer of the Year Award for for his application of engineering principles to crop postharvest engineering, energy efficiency, building moisture and mold problems, and restoration of flooded buildings. Full Biography

PAUL A. HEINEMANN, Pennsylvania State University, is recipient of the 2018 James R. & Karen A. Gilley Academic Leadership Award for his outstanding academic and administrative leadership in teaching and research programs, and has service as a positive role model for engineering and technology students. Full Biography 

THOMAS TROUT, PE, USDA-ARS, is the recipient of the 2018 Award for the Advancement of Surface Irrigation for for his outstanding contributions in surface irrigation technologies both nationally and internationally. Full Biography

RANDAL K. TAYLOR, PE, Oklahoma State University, is recipient of the 2018 GB Gunlogson Countryside Engineering Award or his outstanding contributions across extension, research, and education through his technological advancements in conservation management of the countryside. Full Biography 

G.S. VIJAYA RAGHAVAN, ASABE FELLOW, PE, McGill University, is the 2018 recipient of the International Food Engineering Award for dedication to promoting agricultural and biological engineering internationally. Full Biography 

JOHN K. SCHUELLER, PE, University of Florida, is the recipient of the 2018 Kishida International award for his dedication to promoting advancements in agricultural research, especially with regard to precision agriculture, internationally. Full Biography 

MEGH GOYAL, PE, University of Puerto Rico (retired) and Apple Academic Press, is recipient of the 2018 Netafim Award for Advancements in Microirrigation for outstanding research in microirrigation management to enhance crop productivity while conserving environmental quality. Full Biography 

BRIAN OLSON, Power Pin, Inc., is the recipient of the 2018 Evelyn E. Rosentreter Standards award in recognition of his  outstanding contributions to ASABE standards and the safety of the agricultural industry. Full Biography 

AJAY KUMAR, PE, Oklahoma State University, is the recipient of the 2018 Gale A. Holloway Professional Development award for his leadership and active involvement in ASABE communities and his encouragement of preprofessional development. Full Description

The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) is an international scientific and educational organization dedicated to the advancement of engineering applicable to agricultural, food, and biological systems. Further information on the Society can be obtained by contacting ASABE at (269) 429-0300, emailing, or visiting