News Detail

Zhu, Mickelson, Jayas Distinguished with ASABE Gold Medals

Tuesday, August 01, 2023
Zhu, Mickelson, Jayas Distinguished with ASABE Gold Medals

Heping Zhu, Steve Mikelson, and Digvir Jayas were recently honored by ASABE with gold medal awards, among the highest honors bestowed by the organization. The awards were presented at a luncheon ceremony held during the 2023 ASABE Annual International Meeting, in Omaha.

Click on links below for more biographical information.


Heping Zhu, ASABE Fellow,
is therecipient of the 2023 Cyrus Hall McCormick JeromeIncrease Case Gold Medal for inventing and commercializing intelligent precision spray technology resulting in reduced agrochemical use andenhanced protection of crops, workers, and theenvironment.Zhu is an agricultural engineer and lead scientist for the USDA-ARS Application TechnologyResearch Unit in Wooster, Ohio.

Full biography

The Cyrus Hall McCormick Jerome Increase Case Gold Medal Award is awarded “for exceptional and meritorious engineering achievement in agriculture.” 


Digvir S. Jayas, PE, ASABE Fellow, is the recipient of the 2023 John Deere Gold Medal for
establishing horizontal grain drying principles for uniform and energy-efficient drying and for developing engineering practices to reduce significant grain storage losses globally.

Jayas is the president and vice-chancellor of the University of Lethbridge and distinguished professor emeritus of the University of Manitoba. Jayas provides leadership to the University of Lethbridge. 

Full biography

The John Deere Gold Medal honors achievement through engineering for improved manipulation, use and conservation of soil-water resource, and that has resulted in applications of a new concept, product, art or science that advanced the development of agriculture. 


Steve K. Mickelson, ASABE Fellow,
is the recipient of the 2023 Massey-Ferguson Educational Gold Medal for his dedication to teaching and student learning through learning communities and continuous improvement of the STEM curriculum.
Mickelson is the senior policy advisor to the provost at Iowa State University (ISU). He is co-leader of the largest change in student information systems in the history of ISU where he ensures thatthe new system and processes meet the needs of faculty and students related to curriculum, courses, and student records from the moment a student applies to Iowa State through their alumni experience. 
The Massey-Ferguson Educational Gold Medal honors those whose dedication to the spirit of learning and teaching in the field of agricultural engineering has advanced our agricultural knowledge and practice, and whose efforts serve as an inspiration to others.

ASABE is an international scientific and educational organization dedicated to the advancement of engineering applicable to agricultural, food, and biological systems.