News Detail

ASABE Inducts Ten as Fellows of the Society

Monday, August 07, 2023
ASABE Inducts Ten as Fellows of the Society

The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) recently inducted ten individuals as Fellows of the Society.

The grade of Fellow is the highest honor bestowed by the Society and recognizes members whose careers have been marked by extraordinary accomplishments and contributions to the field of agricultural, food, or biological systems engineering. In addition to meritorious achievement, individuals must have a minimum of 20 years of engineering practice or teaching and 20 years as a member in ASABE. 

This year's induction ceremony took place at ASABE's 2023 Annual International Meeting, held in Omaha, Nebraska. 

Complete biographies can be found through the links included below; contact Dolores Landeck for photographs.

Members of the 2023 Class of ASABE Fellows are:

Dave Bjorneberg, PE, supervisory research engineer, USDA Agricultural Research Service
for his efforts to reduce erosion and nutrient loss on irrigated lands.

Dennis A. Bowman, senior principal engineer, JohnDeere Product Engineering Center
for his work as lead engineer on numerous innovativedevelopments on John Deere tractors, and for consistently serving as a respected mentor.

Ying Chen, PEprofessor, University of Manitoba
for outstanding contributions to teaching and research in agricultural machinery, and servicesto the Society.

William S. Kisaalita, professor, University of Georgia
for distinguished contributions to the field of development engineering, using human-centered design in the creation of technology-based interventions for low-resource settings

Karen Mancl, professor, Ohio State University
for her commitment to eliminating the discharge of water pollutants from homes, communities and food industries in rural America

Sudhagar Mani. professor, University of Georgia
for his work in biomass supply logistics, pelleting and torrefaction, thermochemical conversion, sustainability assessments of biofuels, and bioproducts

Michael Ngadi, PEprofessor, McGill University
for his outstanding contributions in the field of bioprocess engineering and leadership in global food security

Syed S.H. Rizvi, professor, Cornell University
for his pioneering contributions to supercritical fluids, extrusion, and membrane separation processes to enhance food quality, nutrition, and sustainability

Gary T. Roberson, PE, professor and extension specialist, North Carolina State University
for his contributions to agricultural machinery and precision agriculture

Mark R. Wilkins, PE, professor and department head, Kansas State University
for his contributions to the practice of bioprocess engineering, advancing the quality of education, and service to the Society

ASABE is an international scientific and educational organization dedicated to the advancement of engineering applicable to agricultural, food, and biological systems.