News Detail

ASABE Inducts Eleven in Class of 2020 Fellows

Tuesday, August 11, 2020
ASABE Inducts Eleven in Class of 2020 Fellows
Eleven individuals of meritorious professional achievement were recently inducted as Fellows of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE).The grade of Fellow is the highest honor bestowed by the Society. It honors members of extraordinary accomplishments and contributions to the field of agricultural, food, or biological systems engineering. In addition to meritorious achievement, individuals must have a minimum of 20 years of engineering practice or teaching and 20 years as a member in ASABE. The newly elected Fellows, listed below, were inducted at a ceremony held recently at ASABE's 2020 Annual International Meeting. Find complete biographies of the honorees online; contact Dolores Landeck for photographs.

Members of the 2020 Class of ASABE fellows are:

  • James P. Bordovsky, PE, senior research scientist and agricultural engineer, Texas A&M AgriLife Research, Texas A&M University
  • Garey A. Fox, PE, professor and department head of the biological and agricultural engineering department at North Carolina State University
  • Jane Rossing Frankenberger, professor, department of agricultural and biological engineering, Purdue University
  • Suat Irmak, PE, Harold W. Eberhard Distinguished Professor, biological systems engineering, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Amy Kaleita, PE, professor and associate chair for teaching, agricultural and bio systems engineering, Iowa State University
  • Won Suk (Daniel) Lee, professor, agricultural and biological engineering, University of Florida
  • Shiv Om Prasher, PE, Distinguished James McGill Professor, bioresource engineering, McGill University
  • Bradley K. Rein, PE, national science liaison, USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture
  • Patricia K. Smith, professor and associate department head for academic programs, Texas A&M University
  • Alvin R. Womac, professor, biosystems engineering, University of Tennessee
  • Yibin Ying, president of Zhejiang A&F University and Qiushi Distinguished Professor of Zhejiang University

ASABE is an international scientific and educational organization dedicated to the advancement of engineering applicable to agricultural, food, and biological systems.