2020 Recipient
Dirk Maier

 Past Award Winners

The World Food Summit of 1996 defined food security as existing “when all people at all times have access to sufficient, safe, and nutritious food to maintain a healthy and active life”. The purpose of this award is to recognize enhancement of food security by innovative engineering or the application of engineering in the production and distribution of food, including the storage and handling of grains, oilseeds, and other food products.

The Sukup Global Food Security Award shall be given annually. If in any given year no nomination is deemed worthy by the review committee no award shall be given that year. The recipient may be an individual, group, or organization with an outstanding record of activities meeting the purpose of the award. The recipient will receive a glass recognition item and a $1,000 prize check. 

The award is open to anyone. ASABE membership is not a requirement.

Submission Deadline: October 31 annually

Nomination Instructions: Please view this document in order to find the materials required for a nomination. The award nomination materials, including 3-5 letters of support, are to be submitted on the Major Awards Nominations website.  

Award Committee Rules