Congratulations to the 2019 Winners!

1st Place – Carrie Sanford, North Carolina State University
Influence of Carbon Source Preadaptation and pH Adjustment on Soluble Sugar Consumption and Product Formation by Clostridium autoethanogenum

2nd Place –  Breuklyn Opp, Iowa State University
Food Transportation Emissions and Estimation Tools

3rd Place – Adam Hemmelgarn, Purdue University
Calibrating the Physical Properties of Corn and Wheat Using the Discrete Element Method

Past Winners

The objective of the K. K. Barnes Student Paper Awards Competition is to encourage undergraduate students in the preparation of better technical papers on subjects in the agricultural, food or biological engineering field. It is intended as a special inducement to supplement the training provided in the undergraduate curriculum by providing early practice in a type of performance required of professionals in the work in which they will later engage.

The competition consists of two parts: a written competition and an oral competition. Authors of the top three written papers are invited to attend the ASABE Annual Meeting to participate in the oral competition.

Rules and regulations governing the K. K. Barnes Student Paper Awards are listed below. It is important that they be fully understood and complied with by those competing for the awards. Please contact the Awards Administrator with questions.

Contestants shall be student members of ASABE and undergraduates at the time of the studies that resulted in the preparation of the paper.  Papers shall be received at ASABE headquarters no later than six months after the students’ receipt of the first professional degree. The number of contestants shall  be limited to one entry per year.

Papers and/or projects submitted to the AGCO National Student Design Competition are not eligible for the K. K. Barnes Student Paper Awards Competition.

First Place:$500 cash, ASABE meeting registration fee waived, and a certificate. The engineering department developing the first-place winner will also receive a commemorative certificate.
Second Place: $300 cash, ASABE meeting registration fee waived, and a certificate.
Third Place: $200 cash, ASABE meeting registration fee waived, and a certificate.  

Entry Deadline: May 15. Please submit papers to  Only electronic submissions will be accepted.


Committee Bylaws and Competition Guidelines