Encourages and recognizes outstanding engineering contributions to the cotton industry.

This award is sponsored by Deere & Company and is named after William Donald Mayfield, an extension agricultural engineer who devoted his career to the application of engineering fundamentals.

The award consists of an inscribed plaque.


Eligibility: Recipient must be a current ASABE member. They also must have a good long-term job performance record with at least five years of experience in cotton, and must have made a specific recent engineering-related contribution to the cotton industry.

Submission Deadline: October 31

Nomination Instructions: Please view this document in order to find the materials required for a nomination. All award nomination materials are to be submitted on the Major Awards Nominations website by October 31st. 

Award Bylaws


19, Holt


2023 Recipient
Greg A. Holt

Past Recipients



To nominate an ASABE Member for this award, visit the ASABE Awards nominations website, linked below. Deadline for submitting materials is October 31 annually. 

Nomination website
Nomination Instructions