Honors those whose dedication to the spirit of learning and teaching in the field of agricultural engineering has advanced with distinction our agricultural knowledge and practice and whose efforts serve as an inspiration to others.

Established in 1965, the award is named for Daniel Massey, pioneer innovator and agricultural machinery manufacturer, and Harry Ferguson, inventor and ardent exponent of agricultural mechanization. The award shall consist of a gold medal that has the likeness of Daniel Massey and Harry Ferguson, co-founder of Massey-Ferguson, Inc. appearing on the front of the medal.


Eligibility: Recipient and nominator(s) must be current ASABE members.

Submission Deadline: October 31

Nomination Instructions: Please view this document in order to find the materials required for a nomination. The award nomination materials, including 3-5 letters of support, are to be submitted on the Major Awards Nominations website. 

Award Committee Bylaws


27, Mickelson


2023 Recipient
Steve K. Mickelson

Past Recipients


To nominate an ASABE member for this award, visit the ASABE awards nominations website, linked below. Deadline for submitting materials is October 31 annually. 

Nomination website
Nomination Instructions