Honors and recognizes annually an ASABE member who is currently providing outstanding academic leadership while serving as the department head/chair of a Biological and/or Agricultural Engineering Department (or similarly named department) in the United States that presently has an ABET accredited Agricultural/Biological Engineering program.

The award is sponsored by James R. and Karen A. Gilley.

The award is a stately eagle perched on an engraved optic crystal ball to be presented to an individual during the awards recognition program at the Annual International Meeting of the Society.

Eligibility: The award recipient must be a current ASABE member and head/chair as of January 15th of the year he/she is selected for the award.

Submission Deadline: October 31

Nomination Instructions: Please view this document in order to find the materials required for a nomination. All required award nomination materials must be submitted on the Major Awards Nominations website by October 31st, linked on the right side of this page.

Award Committee Bylaws


10, Julie Carrier


2023 Recipient
Danielle Julie Carrier

Past Recipients



To nominate an ASABE Member for this award, visit the ASABE Awards nominations website, linked below. Deadline for submitting materials is October 31 annually. 

Nomination website
Nomination Instructions