Established in 1972, this award recognizes and honors members under 40 years of age (on July 1 of the year in which the award is presented), for outstanding contributions to the advancement of the profession and to stimulate professional achievement.

Endowed by the family and friends of ASABE Past President and Fellow, A.W. Farrall, who was associated with Michigan State University's Agricultural Engineering Department, this award honors outstanding success in motivating others in the application of engineering principles to the problems of agricultural engineering.

The award consists of an engraved walnut plaque.

Eligibility: Recipient must be a current ASABE member. The candidate must be under the age of 40 on July 1 of the year in which the award is presented.

Submission Deadline: October 31

Nomination Instructions: Please view this document in order to find the materials required for a nomination on this website. All award nomination materials are to be submitted on the Major Awards Nominations website by October 31st. Each nominee will be considered by the award committee for two additional award years if not selected the first year of consideration for a total of three years, as long as the nominee still meets the age requirement of being under age 40 on July 1 of the year the award is presented.

supplemental form

award committee bylaws



7, Modenbach


2023 Recipient
Alicia A. Modenbach, PE

Past Recipients


To nominate an ASABE Member for this award, visit the ASABE Awards nominations website, linked below. Deadline for submitting materials is October 31 annually. 

Nomination website
Nomination Instructions
Supplemental Form