American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers

Awards & Landmarks
Go Forgot Username/Password?

International Food Engineering Award

Funding for this award will expire after 2023 unless a new funding source is identified. A group of dedicated food engineers have undertaken a fundraising effort to see that it continues. Click here to see how you can help with this campaign.

Food Engineering

2017 Recipient - Yrjö Roos
University of College Cork


Past Recipients of the Award

Honors and recognizes food engineering professionals from all parts of the world, who have made significant engineering contributions in research, development or design of food processes significant to the food industry; and in outstanding leadership, management or education to advance the food engineering profession. The award comes with a US$1,000 cash prize, travel expense reimbursement up to US$1,400 to receive the award at the ASABE Annual International Meeting, and a plaque.

Eligibility: The recipient is not required to be an ASABE member. The nominees will be judged on their contributions to food engineering. The principal criteria to be used for selecting the award recipient are the significance by which the contributions:

  • Advanced the application of engineering technology through research, development or design of food processes
  • Developed new machines, processes or methods for use by the food industry.
  • Showed outstanding professional and management leadership in applying food engineering within the food industry.
  • Exhibited a strong successful history of educating professionals for the food engineering profession.

Nomination Instructions: The award nomination form and 3 - 5 letters of support are to be submitted electronically to the Awards Administrator by October 31st. The letters of support may be included with the nomination form or sent separately. Each nominee will be considered by the award committee for two additional award years if not selected the first year of consideration for a total of three years.

Nomination Form

Award Committee Bylaws

ASABE's Latest On Twitter