American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers

Awards & Landmarks
Go Forgot Username/Password?

James R. & Karen A. Gilley Academic Leadership Award


2017 Recipient - Steven K. Mickelson
Iowa State University


Past Recipients of the Award

Honors and recognizes annually an ASABE member who is currently providing outstanding academic leadership while serving as the department head/chair of a Biological and/or Agricultural Engineering Department (or similarly named department) in the United States that presently has an ABET accredited Agricultural/Biological Engineering program.

The award is sponsored by James R. and Karen A. Gilley.

The award is a stately eagle perched on an engraved optic crystal ball to be presented to an individual during the awards recognition program at the Annual International Meeting of the Society.

Eligibility: The award recipient must be a current ASABE members and head/chair as of January 15th of the year he/she is selected for the award.

Submission Deadline: October 31

Nomination Instructions: The award nomination form, supplemental document and five letters of support are to be submitted to  the Awards Administrator in electronic format only. The letters of support may be included with the nomination form or sent separately. Each nominee will be considered by the award committee for two additional award years if not selected the first year of consideration for a total of three years.

Nomination Form

Award Committee Bylaws

ASABE's Latest On Twitter